Miracle in Cell No. 7 (Review)

20130212-083837.jpg

I must admit, when I first saw the trailer for “Miracle in Cell No. 7” I wasn’t particularly rushing to buy my ticket. The trailer made the film seem just like another Korean film with way over the top slap-stick comedy and no real plot. After watching it however, I can say that I was wrong on so many levels.

Lee Hwan-Gyeong (Lump of Sugar, Champ) did a great job of mixing comedy and tragedy in such a way that neither seemed out of place. There are a couple of scenes where you will be laughing your guts out, then right after be in tears and it never feels odd. A well done mix of genres that is rarely done.

The story itself was well written and the actors were all fun to watch. Ryoo Seung-Ryong (Good Morning President, War of Arrows) does a great job with his character, a mentally handicapped father who is charged with the murder of a young girl. He is thrown in a prison cell with some other criminals with petty charges and the film just takes off. Then, Ryoo’s daughter, Gal So-Won enters the prison and you just can’t take your eyes off of her. She was very impressive and all of her emotions in the film seemed very real. I hope to see her in more films in the future.

If you do see this film, be prepared and have some tissues with you.There weren’t too many dry eyes in the theater by the end of the film.

“Miracle in Cell No. 7” is a great ride with lots of laughs and many tears. You won’t regret seeing this film.

2 responses to “Miracle in Cell No. 7 (Review)

  1. omg, I cried a lot while watching this movie with my mom.
    its a great movie! really really sad at the same time tho.. 😦

Leave a comment